My Top Reads of 2015

Out of the Depths - bookCheaper by the Dozen - bookboston jane an adventure - book

boston jane the claim - bookAdam-of-the-Roadgettingtoknow

Well, I didn’t quite manage either of the two reading goals I had originally started with. The first was 100 books, but I soon realized that it just wasn’t going to happen no matter how fast I read. So, I changed it to 60 books and that once again proved to be too ambitious also as I only managed to read 40 books this year. Oh well, at least I did read a good bit. Not gonna beat myself up over that.

So, I’ve been seeing “favorite reads of 2015” posts around and thought I’d go ahead and put one up too even though I blog monthly on my favorite reads. The six books you see up there have made it to my “top reads of the year”. And to make it to this post, it has to be a book that I would read again. Oh, and did I mention that I almost never read books twice? So, you have my word for it that these are really great books. And I gotta say, I’m quite surprised that half of the books on this list are fiction. I’ve always considered myself a non-fiction girl.

  • Out of the Depths: I read this book in one sitting. It is the story of the sinking of the USS Indianapolis, written by a Christian sailor who survived the torpedo bombing and the four days at sea before rescue in shark infested salt water. I so appreciated his Christian testimony throughout and hearing how the Lord kept him and others strong and sane in an extremely trying ordeal.
  • Cheaper by the Dozen: If you’ve ever seen the movie, you will want to read the book. The story of the Frank Gilbreth family will probably have you laughing at times, as it did me. An easy, interesting read, and I hear there are two other books in the series.
  • Boston Jane: An Adventure:
  • Boston Jane: The Claim:I loved these books and series (though I was disappointed to not be able to read the second book as my library doesn’t have it). It reminded me so much of Gloria Whelan’s Island trilogy, which are some of my very favorite historical fiction books. This series is set in the mid 1800’s in first Philadephia and then Oregon and chronicles the adventures of tomboyish-turned-lady Jane Peck.
  • Adam of the Road: Set in medieval times, this fictional story tells the adventures and journeys of the young minstrel Adam. I found this to be an interesting, pleasant read and appropriate for all ages.
  • Getting To No: This was the best book I have ever read on killing sin in your life. Lutzer did a fabulous job addressing every question and inner thought one might have related to sin in one’s life. Each chapter ends with discussion questions, which can be worked through alone or with a discussion group. I highly, highly recommend that every Christian read this book.
Leave a Reply

