books · reviews

Review | Spark Joy

sparkjoybook

As a lover of all things organized, orderly, minimal, and lovely, I was super excited to read this book. I’ve heard a lot about Marie Kondo’s first book, “The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up”, and though I haven’t read it, I was ready to jump on the KonMari method bandwagon. So, “Spark Joy” was the perfect book to introduce me to her world of tidying.

Overall, I enjoyed this read. I found that I already shared a lot of the same organizing and tidying ideas as she had in her book, so not everything was exactly new to me. While I liked and agreed with most of her ideas I’m not sure that I would implement all of them. She encourages the reader to only keep that which “sparks joy” and makes them happy. In some ways, I think she may be having the reader toss a bit too much of their things. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for tossing junk and unused stuff, but sometimes it’s better to keep something until you can replace it, especially if you are in a phase of life where money doesn’t grow on trees.  I disagreed completely with her philosophy (I think she’s Buddhist). She considers every object a living thing that you have to respect and then thank before tossing (and some of which you have to ceremoniously toss). I definitely won’t be following her advice in that way.

The book is divided into three parts, with the first giving an overview on the KonMari method, the second focusing on how to tidy, and the third an overview of what a KonMari’d home looks like. There are cute little illustrations throughout, and an incredibly useful index. The book is also smaller than usual at 7 1/4″ x 5 1/4″. I find that really nice and also rather cute. Overall, a nice book.

Disclaimer: I received this book from the Blogging For Books program in exchange for this review.

Leave a Reply

