Review | Our Man In Charleston

our-man-in-charleston

For once in my life, I’m in a quandary as to how to review a book (this book). Our Man In Charleston intrigued me the minute I saw the cover and read the title. I love a good, riveting, true life spy story. And this one was set in Civil War times … I’d never read about a civil war spy before. But was this actually a spy story? I had a hard time remembering that it was while reading. Maybe it was just me, maybe I wasn’t concentrating properly while reading, but for the life of me, I couldn’t extract any spy flair. I can’t even tell you what Bunch did that made him a spy (Robert Bunch is the spy the book is written about). He was a British consul, but what was he doing in America? I guess you could say this book rather confused me. In one way I feel bad saying this, because the amount of research that went into this project is astounding. The author went into incredible detail and made sure not a single fact was missing. But unfortunately, it was simply too much. It was too much to follow, too much to remember, just too much to digest, even if you only read a few pages. Strangely enough though, it kept me interested enough to continue reading even when I couldn’t keep anything straight and didn’t have a clue what was going on. So, it’s quite probable that this is just a personal thing: that this book just didn’t ‘click’ with me. Someone that loves detail for sure would love this book.

Disclaimer: I received this book from the Blogging For Books program in exchange for this review.

Leave a Reply

