books · reviews

Review: The Ragamuffin Gospel

I had so many high expectations starting into reading this book. I knew it was a top Christian favorite and it had been on my reading list for a long time. I was so excited to see what all the hype was about. But, I just didn’t enjoy it like I thought I would. Manning is a good author, but he’s just not an author I enjoy reading. His writing style is what I would call very philosophical and rambling and often the rambling just doesn’t seem to have a purpose except to fill up pages. That drove me nuts. I’m very much a to-the-point person and getting through all the fluff was really hard. At times I just wished I could put the book away and not finish it. I also wasn’t entirely sure I agreed with everything he said doctrinally. It was difficult for me to narrow down what he was saying amid all the words. And that really bothered me. If I don’t know what someone believes or is teaching in a book, I can’t in good conscience recommend it to anyone. So, for me, this book was a flop.

Disclaimer: I received this book from the Blogging For Books program in exchange for this review.

Leave a Reply

